Wine is something that is typically gluten-free, meaning that the content of gluten inside the bottle is below the FDA approved amount of less than 20 parts per million. This is a low quantity, which means that people with a gluten intolerance can view it as gluten free.
However, for those with coeliac disease, this may not be the case, as some people can be too sensitive to this chemical. Unfortunately, this means that even if a bottle of wine might be considered to be gluten free, it might not be a good idea to drink it.
This is why some manufacturers specifically make things without any gluten in them at all, making them suitable for those with coeliac disease.
In this article, we are going to tell you all about the six different types of gluten free wines that we have found. We are also going to take a closer look at wine in general, and whether or not it is gluten free. Just keep reading to find out more.
Is Wine Gluten Free?
The majority of wine is considered to be gluten free and therefore safe to consume on a gluten free diet. However, the process of making the wine is something that has great influence over this statement.
Both red and white wines are made predominantly from grapes, which are naturally gluten free. The fermentation process also doesn’t contain any gluten. After fermentation, a process that is called fining takes place, in which substances are added to the wine to help clarify it.
This could potentially cause gluten contaminants to enter the bottle. During this process, fining agents will bind with unwanted particles and debris in the wine, which will then be filtered to make the wine clearer.
If a winemaker were to use gluten, or a product that contains gluten, as a fining agent, then the gluten could potentially remain behind in the bottle. This could be harmful to those with coeliac disease or a gluten sensitivity.
However, studies do suggest that even if there is gluten in the bottle after finishing, it will be lower than 20 parts per million, meaning that it can be labelled as gluten free, based on guidelines that have been set by the FDA.
There has also been some discussion surrounding wines that have been aged in oak barrels that are sealed with wheat paste. Although, studies have shown that the amount of gluten found in these wines was below the limit of quantification for gluten.
This means that wines that have been aged in these types of barrels can still be considered gluten free.
So, on a general basis, wine is considered to be gluten free and safe to drink for people that have celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity. However, there are some other wine drinks that might not be safe to drink, like wine coolers or flavored wine beverages.
If you are looking for something that is full of flavor but that doesn’t contain any gluten, then you should definitely take a look at the Cupcake Vineyards brand.
Cupcake Vineyards are producers that have previously stated that they do not use any grains during the making of their wine, which is great news for those that can’t have gluten.
They also make it their mission to ensure that there are various options available, so you can choose from a range of gluten free products.
The producers at Frey Vineyards have dedicated themselves to making both gluten free and vegan wine. If you are following a gluten free diet, then it is definitely worth checking out this brand.
6 Best Gluten Free Wines You Have to Try
Now that you know about the wine-making process, we are going to share with you some wines that have been specifically made to ensure that they are gluten free, so you can enjoy a glass of wine without having to worry that you are contaminating yourself without realizing.
You can check out our list of the 6 best gluten free wines below.
This gluten free wine is really good, and it features a strong taste with a crisp finish. Some of the flavors inside this bottle are pear, lemon, cantaloupe, apple, and pineapple.
This is a type of wine that works really well on hot summer days when you need a cold glass of fruity wine to cool you down.
You might be surprised that you can still enjoy rose on a gluten free diet, but even Cupcake Vineyards has two types of rose for you to choose from in either sparkling or still varieties.
Arguably the best of these two is the still wine, which is well known for its more delicate and interesting flavor.
The first thing that you will notice about this wine is that it features hints of both strawberry and watermelon in its flavor, which might not be what you would normally expect from a higher end wine.
Although, this flavor combination works really well as it is a bright wine that has a glorious crispness that you can’t ignore.
Another type of gluten free wine that is worth mentioning is merlot, and if you are looking for a strong and bold red wine, then this could be the perfect product for you.
It features an almost spicy raspberry flavor that is sure to please your taste buds. The consistency of this wine is also really silky, which makes every single sip a delight.
As well as all of this, it has a light and plush finish that will leave you wanting for more, and before you know it, you’re on your third glass.
Organic Sauvignon Blanc
This is a stunningly flavorful white wine that is bound to impress you with its strong tropical flavors. You can expect to taste hints of pineapple and passionfruit with every sip, leaving you with a lemony aftertaste that results in a crisp finish.
This wine also has the perfect level of acidity to bring out aromas of both sweet and sour. This is a great wine to enjoy while you are relaxing on a summer evening.
Biodynamic Cabernet Sauvignon
If you are looking for a berry flavored red wine, then you don’t need to look any further than Biodynamic Cabernet Sauvignon. It tends to be a darker wine with a deep flavor, and these two things combined with the perfect blend of berries makes for a delicious beverage.
You will be able to taste huckleberry and underbrush with a creamy finish, and this is the perfect wine to introduce to cocktails, as the taste is great both on its own and when mixed with other spirits and juices.
If wine cocktails are your thing, then you should definitely check out this wine.
We have previously mentioned the Frey Vineyards brand, and this is just one of their wines that you should make note of. Their red wine is their best selling bottle, and for good reason. You can sit back and enjoy exquisite fruity flavors that create the perfect sweet and crisp finish.
The grapes for this wine are grown on the North Coast of California, and this is where that crisp finish comes from. This is a wine that will go well with pretty much anything as it compliments everything that it is paired with perfectly.
While wine is often labelled as gluten free, as it contains less than 20 parts per million of gluten, those with a severe sensitivity to gluten may experience a reaction.
This is why you might want to try out a wine that is truly gluten free, as it is made without any grains at all. Hopefully, our list of gluten free wines will help you to choose the perfect bottle of wine for yourself.
- Shrimp Cocktail (and More) Wine Pairing Guide - 09/06/2022
- What Wine Serving Sizes Look Like: Standard Size and More - 08/06/2022
- How Much Sugar is in Wine: Glass and Bottle Sugar Content - 08/06/2022